The Four Stages of Dealing with One’s Vampirism

By Crimson^Angel

I have noticed that with every awakening vampire there has been a series of four stages before they fully come to terms with what they are. Most people who deal with things such as death, drug addiction, and so on, go through several stages before they come to terms with what is going on with them. It’s not surprising that awakening vampires go through this same process.

The four stages that vampires go through are:

  • Stage one — Collecting data
  • Stage two — Analyzing one’s mental state
  • Stage three — Denial
  • Stage four — Acceptance

I am going to break this down and explain each of the stages to you. If you have any questions feel free to email them to me.


Once a newly awakened vampire becomes awakened the next thing he or she does is research. They read up all they can on other vampires and vampirism, any information available to them. After which, they seem to have a multitude of questions that reading cannot answer, so they seek out people of “their kind” to help them in their quest for knowledge. There’s nothing like personal one-on-one question-and-answer sessions to fill a mind with many more questions, assumptions, and sometimes, misinformation.

Always take what is said with a grain of salt. Be wary whom you trust, because not everyone is out to help you; some are out to harm you. Collecting data on a subject that is not widely talked about is extremely difficult. You receive many wrong leads, and meet some interesting people along the way.


So now that you’ve got all that information, what do you do now? Go Crazy, I say. Between your awakening process, which can vary from painful to confusing, and will all the new information you receive, you begin to question your mental state. At this point, you don’t know up from down and your body is going through the awakening process to prepare you for your new life adaptation. Reality doesn’t seem like reality anymore. You begin to think you are living in a fantasy world. Everywhere you look, you look for people such as yourself, and every person you look at looks delicious to you. How do you tell your friends? Should you tell your friends? What about your family? If you think yourself crazy they surely would, too. You start to question yourself. You wonder if what you’re feeling is all in your head. You wonder if the people you talked to were just telling you stuff to give themselves a good laugh. You wonder if the people you talked to are even what they say they are. All this confusion brings you to doubting yourself, which brings you to stage three.


“You’re crazy — I am not a vampire!!!” This stage is one that is unavoidable in any situation. Everyone goes through denial at some point in his or her life and I wasn’t surprised to find out vampires do, too.

At this stage you think to yourself that all you have studied hard to find out — all that soul-searching you did in stage two was for nothing. Basically, you think and act as if nothing happened. Whenever a vampire topic is brought up, you will change the subject, or leave the group where the conversation is. You refuse to feed, or do things associated with vampirism. You just want to leave that world behind you. You just want to lead a normal life, like before this all started. Sadly, many will stay in this stage until they die. And I believe that since they deny themselves what they naturally need, they die sooner than they were supposed to. You don’t feed and you deny yourself what you need to survive. You lose whatever reserves you have. Though with psi vampires, their unconscious kicks in, and they may begin to psi-feed unintentionally.


Well, you finally make it to stage four when you accept what you are and start living your life in a way that corresponds to being a vampire. Feeding, finding a donor, helping other newly awakened vampires out through their time of need. Basically you accept that being a vampire is what you are, not who you are; and you can incorporate that into making a new you. Which with acceptance you will learn to get used to, and then everything becomes “normal” to you while other things are abnormal. This is the most important step next to collecting data, in my opinion of course.
Well, I have broken down the four stages for you, and I hope it will help you on your journey to finding your true self. Remember, you’re not alone. Many have faced this before, and many will after you. So be there for someone else, and help guide him or her into the path of acceptance if you believe they are what they say they are.

Crimson^Angel contributed the articles “The Four Stages of Dealing with One’s Vampirism”, “Advice to the Newly Awakened”, “What is a Psi Vampire?”. and “Real Vampires; or, A Rose is a Rose”. She also contributed the poem “The Bond”.


Sanguinarius E. Sanguinarius – who has written posts on for Real Vampires.

About Sanguinarius E. Sanguinarius

I’m the founder/creator/page slave of I’m in my early-to-mid 40s. I have 2 special kitties and a good man. More info later. See my website, Sangi’s Corner, for more about me.
Tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.

  • Accepts Tips

    What's the information on this page worth to you?

    Tip Sangi with Bitcoin (BTC), a new, independent international currency. Buy her a cup of coffee, lunch, or a pair of jeans...or heck, be really generous and help her buy a new and decent computer!